Click on https://www2.dpi.state.wi.us/HomeSchoolParent to complete the online Home-Based Private Educational Program form PI-1206 for the current school year. The online PI-1206 form for the 2012-13 school year will be available July 2, 2012.
If you need to correct or change your information: Only you, the parents or guardians, are allowed to change your homeschooling information. Please click on the link above and sign in with the ID and password you used when you originally entered the information. Once signed in, you will be able to make changes or corrections. Please be sure to go through all steps until you reach and click on the Submit button. If you do not click “submit”, your changes will not be saved, and your school district will not have access to your changes/corrections. After submitting you will have a chance to view and print a PDF document with your updated data. If you used your email address as your ID, you will also be sent a confirmation email with a new confirmation number. We recommend keeping this information in your records. The school district(s) you live in will have immediate access to your new information.
The Department of Public Instruction does not provide personal consultation and technical assistance regarding home-based private educational programs. The home-based private educational program telephone numbers, 608-267-9248 or toll free 1-888-245-2732, ext. 1, are available for general home-based private educational program information.
There are many home-based parent associations you may wish to contact for further information about home-schooling - please click here for information about the two largest in Wisconsin.
Information for School Districts
- The PI-1206 form must be completed and submitted online. Click here for a Sample Only copy of a completed PI-1206. The Sample Only copy is for your reference only. The PI-1206 must be submitted online. Paper copies are no longer accepted.
- Wisconsin Statutes relating to Home Schooling
- Frequently Asked Questions Relating to Home Schooling
- Part Time Public School Attendance Option - Wis. Stats. 118.145(4)
- Home-Based Private Educational Program Enrollment Statistics
- Five-year-old Kindergarten Attendance and First Grade Admission
2009 WI Act 41 [Wis. Stat. Sec. 118.14(1)(am)] took effect on October 21, 2009. It requires a child who is enrolled in 5-year-old kindergarten in a public or private school to regularly attend kindergarten during the school year. Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, with certain exceptions, Act 41 also requires a child to complete 5-year-old kindergarten as a prerequisite to being admitted to first grade in a public school. The Wisconsin Association of School Boards has issued a statement describing the law.